Lindbergh Foundation Spirit Awards

Home Lindbergh Foundation Spirit Awards

Lindbergh Foundation Spirit Awards

The Lindbergh Spirit Award is given for pioneering achievements in an aviation career and a spirit and character that represents the best of this nation. This honorary award is given every five years.

“I owned the world that hour as I rode over it. free of the earth, free of the mountains, free of the clouds, but how inseparably I was bound to them.”



Charles Lindbergh

Lindbergh Foundation Spirit Award Recipients

Given for Pioneering Achievements in Aviation

General Benjamin O. Davis, Jr., entered the U.S. Military Academy in 1932 as the only African-American cadet and, four years later, became the first black West Point graduate in the 20th century.

Lt. Gen. Benjamin Davis, Jr.

1997 Recipient

A United States senator and astronaut, Glenn was the first American to orbit the earth, aboard the third piloted flight of the Mercury program.

Senator John Glenn

2002 Recipient

Captain Gene Cernan, as Commander of Apollo XVII, holds the distinction of being the last man to leave his footprints on the surface of the moon.

Captain Eugene A. Cernan

2007 Recipient